Shortbread

Thankfully this Friday I had the day off so decided to trial run some homemade shortbread before taking some into work for my colleagues, who have been nagging me for weeks to bring some in! After going out for a full English breakfast, a nice coffee I thought to make this would be a lush treat for when I got back from taking my dog for a long walk by my nearby canal.

Shortbread

This is a recipe I got off a family friend who made shortbread for us a while ago. It’s such a simple yet tasty recipe which can easily be adapted and added to. You can add things like chocolate chip, sultanas, currants and other additions which suite you.

The ratio for this is 3 Flour to 2 Butter to 1 Caster sugar. You can adapt this to make different size and thickness shortbread for your own needs.

To make the shortbread I made in a 20cm tin you need;

  • 12oz Plain flour
  • 8oz Butter, cubed
  • 4oz Caster sugar, plus extra for dusting

You will also need a 20cm round or square tin lined with greaseproof paper

To make;

  1. Preheat the oven to 170°C
  2. Mix the flour and sugar in a large bowl
  3. Add the butter and rub in using your fingers until it resembles bread crumbs or use a food processor to get the same consistency
  4. Place into the prepared tin and press down firmly
  5. Bake in the oven for 30mins until just golden on top
  6. Remove from the oven and leave to cool slightly in the tin before placing onto a cooling rack
  7. Sprinkle with the extra Caster sugar

To make some of the different variety shortbread mix in the fruit or chocolate after the butter has been rubbed in. I used about 3.5 oz of chocolate chips to make the ones for my colleagues.

I also had to share this picture I took whilst walking my dog. One of my favourite places with many happy memories both on and off the water.

Purton Canal.

Purton Canal.

I also made a lemon meringue tart for mothers day As it’s one of my mum’s favourite puddings 🙂

Lemon meringue tart

Lemon meringue tart

If you want to make this tart recipe it can be found earlier in my blog.

I hope you’ve all enjoyed reading this and please let me know if you try any of these recipes or have any questions.

Until next time happy baking xxx

Leave a comment